The Department of Mechanical Engineering was founded in 2018 (Law 4559/2018) and constitutes the youngest department in the School of Engineering.

The Department of Mechanical Engineering began its operation at the administrative level after a Senate decision (University of Ioannina Senate meeting 1069/18-07-2019).

The following faculty members of the School of Engineering comprise the temporary General Assembly of the Department:

  • Ioannis Fudos, Professor (Chairman)
  • Nektaria Barkoula, Professor (Deputy Chairman)
  • Theodore Matikas, Professor
  • Alkiviadis Paipetis, Professor
  • Kostas Vlachos, Assistant Professor

with Maria Papadopoulou as the Head secretary of the Department (see Contact details).

The beginning of the educational operation of the Department will be scheduled by a subsequent Senate decision.